I'm Learning Japanese

I really think so

Language Hacking Guide – My Goals

Posted by drivers99 on May 17, 2010

Irish Polyglot’s Language Hacking Guide came out today and I’m already having a great time reading it. It’s currently $39 and set to go up by $10 (once they translate it into other languages besides English). I’m on page 53 in which I’m supposed to post my goals on my language log. Fortunately I already have a language log which is this site so that saves me some time!

I’m taking some notes so I will also blog about the guide as a whole and what you can expect from it in another post, in case someone is wondering whether or not to get it. But for now, let me just post some goals:

  • Be able to sing and understand all the songs off of Bubblegum Crisis CD within 2 months (July 17, 2010).
  • Be able to carry on a conversation with people online by voice about a handful of selected topics within 3 months. (August 17, 2010).
  • Be able to understand half of what they are talking about on a podcast and explain it to someone else within 3 months. (August 17, 2010).
  • Be able to understand half of the speech and follow a story in anime within 3 months. (August 17, 2010).
  • Be able to understand half of written manga and follow the story within 3 months. (August 17, 2010).
  • “Fluency” (90% understanding of the above, making few mistakes) within 12 months (May 17, 2011).

The first one is just for fun, but I have some ideas of how to go about doing that.  AJATT has a blog post about learning songs and using overlapping short audio clips in an SRS deck in order to learn it.

The following ones are basically: speaking, listening, listening, and reading.  The last one is a long term goal.  It is “fluency” within 12 months (not the 3 months that Irish Polyglot talks about).  We shall see if I can do it in less time instead, which would be nice.

I don’t have one for writing so let me add one:

  • be able to hand-write 3 paragraphs about a topic of my choice, with kanji, within 3 months. (August 17, 2010).
9 Responses to “Language Hacking Guide – My Goals”

  1. Lan'dorien said

    Good goals, and you can definitely achieve them!

    • drivers99 said

      Thanks! It looks like a lot to me, doing all four disciplines (read, write, listen, speak) but I hope the rest of this guide will show me how to get there! Ha ha. And there should be a lot of overlap, like if I know what to say, I will know what to write, and so on.

  2. kanjiwarrior said

    Cool man, I think you can do it! Keep us posted on your progress we are all cheering for you! My goals mostly focusing on understanding… I need to set a goal for speaking too.

  3. Glad to see you implement my suggestions 🙂 Keep up the good work – I’m sure you’ll get most if not all of these goals 😀

  4. JPK said

    hmmm, you stopped posting on your blog just after starting with Benny’s language hacking guide?
    Is that a bad sign for those considering the guide?

    Are you still learning Japanese?

    • It’s either a bad sign, or a really good one (too busy out speaking to update 😛 )

    • Don R said

      I am still learning Japanese, but not as enthusiastically as I would like. I got all fired up by the guide (it is extremely motivational) and created some goals. However, I did not follow up by doing the other part of it, which is to figure out what you need to do every day to reach those goals, and then to do it!

      I’m pretty bad at doing things like that. For example, nanowrimo (national novel writing month) is something I’ve tried a few times, but I usually quit writing after a couple of days.

      A couple of months ago, the group of Japanese language learners I follow on Twitter started a reading contest called tadoku (wide reading, 多読) which was a contest to see who could read the most pages. I mostly read a couple days at the beginning, and at the end. That little bit of reading was extremely educational, but difficult. I avoid it for most of the month, and I didn’t reach my goal of 120 pages.

      I was recently talking to that group again on IRC and how I had pretty much failed to much of anything in the last 5 months (as shown by my blog) and got some ideas and motivation to start doing some more again. I’ve started to do a little bit more lately.

      In relation to this blog post, I was thinking about something I ran across a few days ago, which was that when people say they are going to do something, it ends up taking away their motivation to do that thing, as opposed to only taking credit for the task when you’re done with it. It made me want to remove this post, but I guess I’ll leave it up, then do some things, then post what I actually DID and not what I’m going to do.

      Thanks for replying. I need the wake up call. 🙂

      • Kanjiguy said

        Even if you just do something small, be consistent. That’s what’s pulled me through some times when I just had no motivation to continue. I been trying to get running every other day but failed at doing that, now I just try to walk for like 15min a day and that’s been working out pretty good because it’s really easy to do and there is no reason I can’t go for a short walk.

        Also if you really feel you want to learn Spanish, maybe you should do that instead? Don’t worry about what anyone thinks, I’m sure all “the guys” would be rooting for you either way!

Leave a Reply

 
